There are 28 sports and 45 disciplines in the official programme of the 9th World Masters Games in Auckland, New Zealand.

Registrations are now closed for most sports.  The only remaining registration options are as follows. These will remain open until 31 March, or until the Games reaches capacity.

Participants can register for the following (event capacity permitting):

  • Triathlon – Individual and Team
  • Athletics – Cross Country
  • Swimming – Open Water
  • Additional team members over and above team minimums 
  • Registrations for Non-Playing Officials.

Our 28 sports are: archery, athletics, badminton, baseball, basketball, canoe, cycling, football, golf, hockey, lawn bowls, netball, orienteering, rowing, rugby, sailing, shooting, softball, squash, surf life saving, swimming, table tennis, tennis, touch, triathlon, volleyball, water polo, and weightlifting.

All sports competitions are run to international federation rules and guidelines. Many sports offer different grades of competition from competitive to social. This presents participants of all levels of skill the opportunity to compete against athletes of similar capability and win medals.

Each sport offer mens and womens competitions. As is customary, two sports – weightlifting and orienteering – will hold their annual World Masters Championships at World Masters Games 2017.

For information about a particular sport, click the relevant icon below. The FAQ of each sport may answer specific questions. If you have any further questions, feel free to contact us.


Sports Archery Sports Athletics Sports Badminton baseball basketball Sports Canoe Sports Cycling football golf Sports Hockey Sports Lawn Bowls netball Orienteering Sports Rowing Sports Rugby sailing shooting softball squash surf lifesaving Sports Swimming Sports Table Tennis Sports Tennis Sports Touch Sports Triathlon Sports Volleyball water polo Weightlifting